Notice: Undefined index: deskr in /var/www/pic_com/parse2.php on line 102

Notice: Undefined index: deskr in /var/www/pic_com/parse2.php on line 109

Notice: Undefined index: price in /var/www/pic_com/parse2.php on line 176
the Complete Maus: A Survivor's Tale~ Art Spiegelman. HOLOCAUST UNread in MELB

the Complete Maus: A Survivor's Tale~ Art Spiegelman. HOLOCAUST UNread in MELB

the Complete Maus: A Survivor's Tale~ Art Spiegelman.  HOLOCAUST  UNread in MELB

WE  live in MELBOURNE  - and  so do our books !!!

ie They are  NOT coming from overseas !!

THE  COMPLETE

MAUS

- by Art Spielgelman  -

ISBN: 9780141014081 

Publisher:  Penguin, London, UK

Published: 2003

Binding: SOFTcover 296 pages

Condition: UNread condition! HERE in MELBOURNE!  as illustrated!

Edition: FIRST EDITION: First printing 

TIGHT,  UNOPENED  PROTECTED   SOFTCOVER  ~  IN  MELBOURNE  ... 

WHY do ers buy from US?

Because you KNOW what you're getting. My close up photos are of the actual item!!

Remains UNread - it was displayed in a senior academic's private collection. It is Tight -  neat, no inscriptions or marks within. Appears as in my photos - this is the exact copy!!  A nicely preserved copy - superb!

The actual softcovers themselves have no discernible damage. They are glossy, bright and clean. Minimal, if any, edgewear, as illustrated. With 296 spotless, heavily illustrated pages.   

Published in London, UK by Penguin this is the first combined Edition from 2003.

Incredibly SCARCE title -  in  MELBOURNE  an  UNread copy!!

It's just as described and illustrated. (Stored with 2018!)

Measures approx. 23cms x 16cms   or 9ins  x  5ins.

SYNOPSIS ....

Maus is a graphic novel by American cartoonist Art Spiegelman, serialized from 1980 to 1991. It depicts Spiegelman interviewing his father about his experiences as a Polish Jew and Holocaust survivor. The Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman - the Pulitzer prize-winning Holocaust survivor story 

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' (The New York Times).Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors. Maus studies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us. This combined, definitive edition includes Maus I: A Survivor's Tale and Maus II.

About the Author

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. His other books include: Breakdowns: From Maus to Now, an Anthology of Strips; The Wild Party; Open Me, I'm A Dog; Jack Cole and Plastic Man: Forms Stretched to Their Limits; In the Shadow of No Towers; Breakdowns: Portrait of the Artist as a Young %@ Be a Nose; Jack and the Box and MetaMaus. He lives in New York.

Wonderful artwork - fascinating read

REVIEWS

'The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust' ~ Wall Street Journal

'The first masterpiece in comic book history' - The New Yorker

One of the cliches about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory - Independent

A brutally moving work of art - Boston Globe.

In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving - TimeOut

Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt - New Yorker

An epic story told in tiny pictures - New York Times

The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust - Wall Street Journal

Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it -- Umberto Eco A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event -  New York Times Book Review

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' - New York Times

A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comics - Washington Post.

All too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman's Maus is just such a book – Esquire.

A remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliant - Jules Feiffer

Maus is a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything, Maus is there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect - Philip Pullman

Spiegelman's Maus changed comics forever. Comics now can be about anything - Alison Bechdel

Reading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytelling - Etgar Keret.

It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was. - Washington Post

GREAT BOOK ti use when teaching THE HOLOCAUST … Maus follows the story of Vladek Spiegelman. It specifically follows his life and experience, with the Holocaust. In the book, the Jewish people are portrayed as mice. The Germans were portrayed as cats, hence the idea of cats chasing mice. Vladek’s life is explained, and explored, through flashbacks. These flashbacks are recorded by Vladek’s son, and the author of Maus, Artie Spiegelman. Artie does a fantastic job of capturing what his father’s life is like during the Holocaust. One of the ways he does this is portraying the idea of hatred among people. The hatred that the Germans showed in the book really captured how they felt about the Jewish community. With this being said, the book at some parts can become explicit. In between the flashbacks, you can see how the Holocaust still affects Vladek to this day. He tries to save anything he can, and says to use up everything and not to waste. This shows that not having anything during the Holocaust, has caused Vladek to become a “saving” person. Although at some parts, Maus’ sentence structure can be a bit difficult to understand, due to the way Vladek said his sentences, the book flows well and is a great book for anyone learning about the Holocaust to read.

I loved this book  …  d it's new spin on the holocaust. It allowed an in depth look on a realistic effect of the Holocaust on not only the first generation but the second as well. It keeps you hooked the whole time with the drawings but the depth can make it hard to follow at times.

Marvellous Reading!

WHY  do ers buy from US?

Because you KNOW what you're getting. My close up photos are of the actual item & form part of my description!!

POSTAGE  IS  $14.90  WITHIN  AUSTRALIA

*All items will be shipped within 3 business days of receipt of payment. Payment can be made by  Direct Deposit Bank Transfer or Paypal. 

Check out my other items- 

*Buyer to make contact within 3 days of auction end and payment within 5 days. 

*Cash on pick up is fine. 

*Bank deposit & PAYPAL available.  

*Any questions? Just ask!

Please look for my other items in our new Store

'Jingle Bells Books'

~  as there are lots & lots of old, RARE and COLLECTABLE BOOKS to be cleared from our bookshelves. We're new retirees downsizing from 30+ years teaching & clearing an 80 year, 3 generation private family collection of often valuable books ! *HAPPY TO COMBINE POSTAGE up to 3kilos of BOOKS can post WITHIN Australia  for $14.90!

THANKS FOR DROPPING BY

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good
  • Product Code:
  • Availability: In Stock
0 Product(s) Sold
  • $0.00
  • Ex Tax: $0.00
Ka Tung Lam | Suche Weekender, l ca. 6,50 m - op zoek naar een weekender | Rosa Arredondo